Cricket Sports

ICC Women’s T20 Kicks off, Heavy Hopes for Defending Champion Australia

With ICC Women’s World Twenty20 title kicking off on 15th March, three time defending champions Australia have its eyes set to emerge victorious. The Australia have previously won the tournament in 2010, 2012 and in 2014. This year, the tournament begins with India and Bangladesh taking on each other followed by New Zealand vs. Srilanka. Speaking of Australia, the champions seem to be a little off as Leg Manning’s side has recently encountered a series of four losses among the six matches that were being played. Australia has been put aside in the same group as that of Ireland, South Africa, New Zealand, and Srilanka which makes up the structure of Group A. Group B has England, India, Bangladesh, West Indies and Pakistan. The two leading teams from each of the group shall be clashing on in the semi finals of the tournament which is scheduled to be played on March 30 and 31, followed by the finals on April 3.

This time ICC will be broadcasting all matches of the tournament for the very first time through their official broadcaster channel partner Star Sports and other host of associate sponsors. Earlier, only the semi finals and finals were shown live on TV. ICC decision to broadcast all the matches of the tournament will definitely act as boost to the spirit of womanhood in cricket and spread awareness and  increase viewership of the gentleman’s game, now handled equally well by  women. Speaking on the same note, the skipper of Australian team Lanning told the media that ICC’s decision to broadcast women’s matches is a great one and that this year; her team is facing one of the toughest challenges as compared to the previous year. She also added that every single team in Group A has been in their best form in the last months and that in order to make Australia win the focus will be on team play and only then Australia can emerge winners once again.